The Student Publication Association was formed in 2012 at the University of Southampton, by David Gilani, a sabbatical officer at the university.

It aims to provide a support network to online and print publications, similar to the work done by NaSTA and the SRA for television and radio respectively.

At the 2015 AGM, it was unanimously voted to extend the association to cover the Republic of Ireland, making the SPA an international association.

It has continued to grow rapidly, and is now home to more than 132 student publications across two countries.

The Student Publication Association has worked with organisations such as the Press Association, NUS, Brighton Journalist Works and many more.

Find Out More:

Past Committee Members:

Committee Members are elected at the annual AGM held at the national conference by the membership body.

Past Chairs:

David Gilani, University of Southampton, 2012-13

Chris Williams, Cardiff University, 2013 – 2014
Sophie Hannah Davis, Nottingham Trent University, 2014 – 2015
Jem Collins, University of Kent, 2015 – 2016

Past Digital Media Officers:

Daniel Chesterton, University of Portsmouth, 2013 – 2014
Aubrey Allegretti, University of Sussex, 2014 – 2016

Past Development Officers:

Natasha Sawires, De Montford University, 2013 – 2014
Elliot Davies, St Andrews, 2014 – 2015
Jon May, Swansea University, 2015 – 2016

Past Membership and Communications Officers:

Steph Powell, Southampton Solent, 2013 – 2014
Kerry Sclater, University of Southampton, 2014 – 2015
Megan Downing, University of Southampton, 2015 – 2016

Past Marketing and Events Officers:

Hannah Bracegirdle, De Montford University, 2013 – 2014
Philippa Skett, Imperial College London, 2014 – 2015
Brad Johnson, Hertfordshire University, 2015 – 2016

Past Officers:

In 2014 the SPA officer was expanded to include a regional officer system, giving local representation to it’s members. The officers are selected via an application process set by the committee.

In 2015 the system was also expanded to include an online officer and an alumni officer, as well as an admin assistant.

South West Officers:

Megan Downing, University of Southampton 2014 – 2015
Hannah Mylrea, University of Southampton 2015 – 2016

South East Officers:

Jem Collins, University of Kent 2014 – 2015
Sean Howlett, University of Hertfordshire, 2015
Fraser Whieldon, University of Kent, 2015 – 2016


Marion Legrand, University of East London, 2014 – 2015
Zaki Dogliani, University of Bristol, 2015 – 2016


Katrina Chilver, De Montford, 2014 – 2015
Sian Elvin, Warwick University, 2015 – 2016

Katie Wilson, Nottingham Trent, 2016 – 2017

Northern England

Jon May, Sheffield University, 2014 – 2015
Chloe Coleman, Sheffield University, 2015
Joss Woodend, University of Sheffield, 2016
James Dix, Northumbria University, 2016 – 2017


Racheal Miller, St Andrews, 2014 – 2016
Connor Matchett, University of Edinburgh, 2016 – 2017


Tom Eden, Cardiff, 2014

Republic of Ireland & Northern Ireland

Kylie Noble, Queens University Belfast, 2014 – 2015
Niamh McGovern, Queens University Belfast, 2015 – 2016

Online Editor

Emily Townsend, University of Essex, 2015 – 2016
Bridie Pearson-Jones, University of Southampton, 2016 – 2017

Alumni Officer

Michael O’Connell Davidson, Cardiff University, 2015 – 2016
Jack May, Cambridge University, 2016 – 2017

Admin Officer

Alex Vince, Southampton Solent, 2015 – 2016

Life Members:

David Gilani, University of Southampton (2013)
David Gilani was voted as a life member by members at the AGM in 2013 for his work setting up the organisation.

Jem Collins, University of Kent (2016)
Jem Collins was voted as a life member by her peers in 2016 for her work in expanding the organisation.

Bridie Pearson-Jones, University of Southampton (2016)
Bridie Pearson-Jones was voted as a life member by her peers in 2016 for her work in student media.

Ben Jackson, City University (2016)
Ben Jackson was voted as a life member by his peers in 2016 for his work in student media.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *