Trustee Board

The Student Publication Association Trustee Board is a team of journalism industry professionals who offer advice and support to the Executive Committee in running the SPA.

Four Trustees are elected at the Association’s AGM during the annual National Conference, while three are appointed by the Board.

Two members of the Executive Committee also sit ex officio on the Board. For 2021/22, these are Charlotte Colombo (Chair) and Shannon McDonagh (Sponsorship Officer). Their details can be found on our Executive Committee page.

The other teams that comprise the SPA are our Executive CommitteeRegional Officers, and Project Officers.

Our current Trustee Board is made up of the following individuals:

Trustees hold no legal responsibilities for the Association or its finances. The Board hold no voting rights at SPA meetings or AGM. 

Jem Collins

Jem is a former Chair of the SPA and has served as a Trustee since 2016.

She is the director and founder of Journo Resources, a non-profit which helps to diversify the media industry, as well as freelancing for outlets including the i Paper, PinkNews,, and others.

Jem is passionate about helping young journalists and is keen to help the organisation develop new resources and research

You can find Jem on Twitter.




Aubrey Allegretti

Aubrey is a former two-term Digital Media Officer and has served as a Trustee since 2017.

He works for The Guardian as a political correspondent. Previously he worked for Sky News, HuffPost UK and The Times.

You can find Aubrey on Twitter.






Geri Scott

Geri has served as a Trustee since 2018.

She is a Political Correspondent for PA Media. Previously she was Westminster Correspondent for the Yorkshire Post, and before that worked as a journalist at the Eastern Daily Press.

Geri is a former Editor-in-Chief at Concrete, the University of East Anglia’s student newspaper.

You can find Geri on Twitter.




Sally Patterson

Sally has served as a Trustee since 2021.

She is a reporter for local papers in London and freelances for various national publications.

Sally has an NCTJ from News Associates and masters in Gender Studies from Cambridge.

At university she was the Digital Editor for Varsity, and President of the University of Bristol TV Station (UBTV).

You can find Sally on Twitter.



Juliet Rix

Juliet has served as a Trustee since 2020.

She is an award-winning freelance journalist, and has worked for outlets including The Guardian, The Times and BBC Radio.

Juliet is also a former student newspaper editor, having worked on News for what is now Varsity, at the University of Cambridge.

You can find Juliet on Twitter.




Chris Chohan

Chris has served as a Trustee since 2020.

He lectures in journalism at the University of Lincoln, as well as working on diversity and inclusion in the university’s College of Arts, and the journalism industry.

Outside of his academic career, Chris works as a freelance journalist for ITV, including on Good Morning Britain.

You can find Chris on Twitter.





Richard Brooks

Richard has served as a Trustee since 2020.

He works in communications for Portland, and was a co-founder of the For our Futures’ Sake campaign.

Richard is also a former Vice-President for Union Development with the National Union of Students, and was a regular contributor to Hullfire during his time at university.

You can find Richard on Twitter.

Font Resize