Executive Committee

The Student Publication Association is run by a team of five Executive Committee members, elected annually at the SPA’s National Conference.

The other teams that comprise the SPA are our Trustee BoardRegional Officers, and Project Officers.

Our 2021/22 Executive Committee is comprised of the following individuals. Previous officer teams can be found here.


Chair – Chay Quinn


Chay is a News Reporter at MailOnline and previously edited York Vision while studying English at the University of York.

Chay graduated in 2021 and then completed his NCTJ with News Associates.

Chay can be found on Twitter here.




Training & Opportunities Officer – Bethany Dawson


Bethany is the Editor in Chief of Incite, final year politics and sociology student and a freelance journalist.

She has work in the BBC, The Independent, The Times, VICE, Refinery29, Private Eye and more. She was highly commended in the SPA’s Best Reporter in 2020.

Bethany can be found on Twitter here.



Communications Officer – Marino Unger-Verna


Marino Unger-Verna is the SPA’s Communications Officer. A final-year at King’s College London, he is Editor-in-Chief of Roar News, and has written for numerous other publications, including Teen Vogue, the Gryphon, and the Boston Political Review.

Marino also works as a freelance German/English translator with work in museum exhibits in Berlin, Germany, and spends his free time volunteering for St John Ambulance.

He aims to improve and solidify communication between SPA member publications and administrations, helping everyone involved in the charity work at their best.

Marino can be found on Twitter here.



Conference & Events Officer – Ruby Punt


Ruby is a SOAS MA candidate and the SPA’s Conference and Events Officer.

During her undergraduate studies, she was Head Writer for CUB Magazine, and, after a successful year, was elected co-Editor-in-Chief. 

From June 2019 to January 2020, she ran a travel column for Feather Pen.

Ruby can be found on Twitter here.




Sponsorship Officer – Shannon McDonagh


Shannon is a journalist currently working for EuroNews.

Shannon has previous done work for the Indy100 and Era Magazine.

Shannon can be found on Twitter here.

Font Resize