#SPANC21 Award winners

#SPANC21 Award winners

Student journalists rose to the occasion during an incredibly challenging year. We are proud to celebrate their fantastic achievement of bringing insightful, original reporting to the campus communities they served throughout the pandemic.

Below is the full list of those recognised at the #SPANC21 Awards:

Best Publication Award
Winner: Palatinate
Highly Commended: Epigram

Billy Dowling-Reid Award
Winner: Siavash Minoukadeh (Epigram)
Highly Commended: Imogen Usherwood and Tash Mosheim (Palatinate)

Best Reporter Award
Winner: Toby Donegan-Cross (Palatinate)
Highly Commended: Rebecca Spencer (Kingston Courier)

Best News Story Award
Winner:¬†Toby Donegan-Cross, Will Hutchings and ‘Rose Kohen’ (Palatinate)
Highly Commended: John Wimperis (Redbrick)

Best Specialist Publication Award
Winner: The Economic Tribune
Highly Commended: The Mic Magazine

Best Overall Digital Media Award
Winner: York Vision
Highly Commended: Empoword Journalism

Best Newcomer Publication Award
Winner: Empoword Journalism
Highly Commended: Res Publica

Best Website Award
Winner: GUM
Highly Commended: Impact Magazine

Best Science Publication or Section Award
Winner: Forge Press
Highly Commended: Palatinate

Best Sports Coverage Award
Winner: The Boar
Highly Commended: Palatinate

Best Human Rights Story Award
Winner: Ellie Ng (Kingston Courier)
Highly Commended: Zaman Keinath-Esmail (The Oxford Blue)
Special Mention: Ella Robinson (The Mancunion); Jamie Salem Dalgety and Ethan Marshall (Glasgow Guardian)

Best Science or Tech Piece Award
Winner: Sarah Veale (York Vision)
Highly Commended: Hannah Drew (The Boar)

Best Comment Piece Award
Winner: Kate Henshaw (University Observer)
Highly Commended: Ally Smith (Nouse)

Best Interview Award
Winner: Iwan Stone (York Vision)
Highly Commended: Alana Daly Mulligan (Motley Magazine)

Best Arts or Entertainment Piece Award
Winner: Hailie Pentleton (Glasgow Guardian)
Highly Commended: William Foxton (Cherwell)

Best Lifestyle Piece Award
Winner: Rebecca Norris (The Boar)
Highly Commended: Holly Palmer (York Vision)
Special Mention: Jasmine Parker (The Boar)

Best Feature Award
Winner: Cerys Turner (The Boar)
Highly Commended: Lily Morl and Rhodri Andrews (Invicta News)
Special Mention: Louis Griffin (The Mic Magazine)

Best Magazine Design Award
Winner: Raze
Highly Commended: The Magdalen

Best Newspaper Design Award
Winner: Pi Media
Highly Commended: York Vision

Best Student Photographer Award
Winner: Antonio Ross (The Mancunion)
Highly Commended: Rebekah Lowri (Forge Press)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *